Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Department of Health Care Finance - DHCF

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Long Term Care Services and Supports


  1. What are Long Term Care Services and Supports? Long term care services and supports (LTSS) are a variety of health and social services that offer care for elders and people with disabilities who need support because of their age; physical, mental, growing or long-lasting health conditions that limit their abilities to care for themselves. LTSS can be provided in the home, in a community-based setting, or in a facility. Activities of daily living can include eating, bathing, grooming, dressing, walking, toileting, getting up/down from a seated position, preparing meals, and help with telephone use.
  2. How do I access LTSS? LTSS can be accessed through a network of five District of Columbia Government agencies and non-profit organizations that will take part in person and family-centered planning and offer information about and recommendations for LTSS.  The information will allow people with disabilities, seniors and their families to make choices about the LTSS they need to live with dignity in their homes and be fully included in their communities for as long as possible. The Department of Health Care Finance (, Department on Disability Services (, Department of Behavioral Health (, Department of Human Services (, DC Office on Aging ( and nonprofit organizations work together to update access to LTSS from different sources. LTSS is related to any person, of any age or need, who is looking for or planning LTSS.
  3. What are the eligibility requirements for LTSS? The eligibility requirements for Long Term Care Services and Supports (LTSS) are made up of both financial and non-financial eligibility criteria. The non-financial eligibility criteria include demographic information such as age, and disability; US citizenship or other qualified status; DC residency status; and level of care eligibility. The level of care eligibility is determined by the receipt of a unique score as determined by DHCF’s face-to-face long term care assessment tool.  The financial eligibility criteria are based on a person’s income and assets. The Department of Human Services’ Economic Security Administration is responsible for checking a person’s financial and non-financial eligibility with the exception of the level of care eligibility. A RN employed by DHCF’s agent decides a person’s level of care eligibility by giving an assessment determination used by the tool that identifies an individual’s level of need for a range of LTSS for which the person is eligible. 
  4. What is Person-Centered Planning? Person-Centered Planning is a person and family-centered approached focused on identifying what is important to and for each person who needs supports (as well as their families) with the goal of allowing people to live in their homes with dignity and be fully included in their communities for as long as possible. 
  5. How do I become a LTSS provider? To become a provider in the Elderly and Persons with Physical Disabilities (EPD) Medicaid Waiver Program, potential providers must submit a complete Provider Enrollment package with all the required documents.  It is DHCF’s job to make sure potential providers have the required knowledge, skills and abilities to successfully deliver services and supports. The provider enrollment process is all-inclusive and is as follows: click here.